Office of Naval Research: N000141010933

Daphne Koller and Jitendra Malik elected to NAE

On February 8, 2011, Charles M. Vest, president of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) elected 68 new members including Dr. Daphne Koller and Dr. Jitendra Malik. Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,” and to the “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Daphne Koller, professor, department of computer science, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.
“For contributions to representation, inference, and learning in probabilistic models with applications to robotics, vision, and biology”.

Jitendra Malik, Arthur J. Chick Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of California, Berkeley.
“For contributions to computer vision and image analysis”.